top of page

Against the Odds

I realized early on that I was a special child. There were a lot of medical issues. The doctors told my family I was sick and that I probably would never walk, talk, or survive. They put me in the hospital right away and I had surgery after surgery, test after test. The hospital became my second home. My mom was always trying to be brave. My grandma always took me, hugged me and showed me so much love. She kept telling me “We will prove them wrong!”


"The doctors told my family I was sick and that I probably would never walk, talk, or survive. My grandma always took me, hugged me, and showed me so much love. She kept telling me "We will prove them wrong!"

I was always told I was named after my grandma and my great grandma because they are the strongest women we know. The cards have been stacked against me since birth. I have beat all odds so far. When I go to the hospital, doctors look at me in shock. They ask me, “How does it feel to shatter all medical expectations?” You see I have been told my future is unknown.


I have learned I’m here for something extraordinary in life. When I walk down the mall people ask about me or tell me I bring them calm and peace. I have had people hug me and say “Hello old friend.” I am the person that always wants to help someone else, even if I am the one that is sad or hurting.


"It taught me to fight and never give up. Dreams can and have come true."

It changed my life by teaching me love, compassion and caring. It taught me to fight and never give up. Dreams can and have come true. It may take me longer to do things, but I will do them.


- January 2021

Love

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Share your story or connect with this MonoBlogger by talking to a staff member at SGA

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page