top of page

I had Superpowers

"As a kid I thought that I had superpowers."

As a kid I thought that I had superpowers. Every morning I would wake up to find myself overfilled with energy, so with that liveliness I would sing, sprint and stomp and enjoy every second of it.

“Did you take your pill?” my mother screeched loud enough to wake the entire city from slumber, I replied in a terror-stricken tone, “Yes!” though I did not.

The stairs creaked as she started walking down the stairs, becoming more ominous with every step. Finally, she reached the bottom and called out my name. I hid behind the basement door knowing that she would never find me because I was able to control time, or so I thought. Eventually, I had become uninterested in hiding any longer so I screamed, “FIND ME!” She had surprisingly found me and handed me the orange tinted bottle with the Pills in it and looked down at me with annoyance in her eye, and she exclaimed, “DID YOU TAKE YOUR PILL??” I forced the Pill down; it was dry, and its aftertaste had always made me gag.

"I forced the Pill down; it was dry, and its aftertaste had always made me gag. As the rush of excitement and joy became still like an open lake hidden from the world, I sat down with patience and a tranquil mindset."

As the rush of excitement and joy became still like an open lake hidden from the world, I sat down with patience and a tranquil mindset. My Mother asked me if I had my things organized for school. I answered in a calm tone that my bag was packed, and my lunch was ready, she had smiled and said to hurry as she shoved me out the door.

I took a load off as I sat down on the cold leather bus seat that stretched the leather making a deflating sound, hoping that somebody would notice the sound and make fun so I would be able to show how vigorous and powerful I was. Wistfully, I had not been made fun of but merely called names I didn't quite understand at the time but that had more than constrained me; they would call me derogatory names that I thought was applauding my mighty miniature figure.

" … they would call me derogatory names that I thought was applauding my mighty miniature figure. I had thought that all that praise should make me feel happy, but it never did so over the years I pretended that my powers made me numb to pain and it did."

Those unsettling names rattled inside my inquisitive head; I had thought that all that praise should make me feel happy, but it never did so over the years I pretended that my powers made me numb to pain and it did. Dreadfully it did; I hadn't felt anything. It was an act; every day I was playing this happy, jocund, proud, confident person when in reality, I was depressed, slow, scared, anxious and I had been that way forever.

"That was my superpower. I could hide anything, I hid in a closet most of my life only recently exploring outside of that metaphorical closet."

That was my superpower. I could hide anything, I hid in a closet most of my life only recently exploring outside of that metaphorical closet. Through this exploring, I was slowly losing a negative superpower and rapidly gaining personality and happiness in my life.

- November, 2020

Love

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Share your story or connect with this MonoBlogger by talking to a staff member at SGA

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page