top of page

The Move


Some experiences may impact your life for years to come, here are some of my experiences. I was born in Halifax but have moved around this planet seven times throughout my life. Having all of these new experiences and meeting so many culturally diverse people has taught me so much about how differently we all think and act.


"I still remember the gloomy day my parents told me we would be moving to Louisiana, they told me there would be canals and I would love it in the States. But, in my heart I knew I wouldn’t belong ..."

When I was around two years old I moved to Texas, around a year and a half later there was a hurricane and we moved to Ontario. I have very few memories of Texas because I was two years old but I remember what my room looked like. Ontario though, I remember a lot: learning how to ride a bike and swing; the simple times. I moved to Edmonton after that and I loved that house so much; we had three acres all to ourselves and I could ride my dirtbike as much as I wanted. We also had a little creek at the bottom of our land that would have all sorts of amphibians; I liked being a couple acres away from the next house; it made me feel isolated which I still love to this day. I still remember the gloomy day my parents told me we would be moving to Louisiana, they told me there would be canals and I would love it in the States. But, in my heart I knew I wouldn’t belong there but we had to move due to my father's job.


Louisiana was nothing too special if I am being honest, I had a couple friends but never hit it off with anyone and spent most of my time indoors due to the heat. One thing that I am glad I experienced was Mardi Gras: huge floats throwing beads and stuffed animals everywhere with people incredibly drunk. After my time in Louisiana I moved back to Texas, not the same house or the same city but about two hours away from Houston.


"I was pretty broken when I found out I was moving to Alberta. I was super excited but I would have to leave behind my friends."

Texas was by far the most controversial place; these kids in particular were different than most I had met, meaning I would have to hear them talk about their trucks and duck hunting all day. I had very good friendships with some people and made some memories rapping and ding dong ditching people’s houses with my friends. The people I wouldn’t hang around were the people who only cared about their trucks and their shotguns. Those people are as far away from me as you could possibly get, which is why when I met my best friend there and he was different, I knew I struck gold. I still talk to him sometimes even to this day, we mostly talk about when I am going down to see him or when he’s coming up to see me, which is difficult due to his diabetes limiting his mom's trust and feeling of safety. I was pretty broken when I found out I was moving to Alberta. I was super excited but I would have to leave behind my friends. I still remember the day I said goodbye to Joseph last, he came over and as he left I sort of acted like it was casual and how we would meet up in the future. I have many regrets about that situation due to the fact I have not seen him to this day.


And then comes the present: living in Chestermere, Alberta with some of the dumbest and funniest people I have ever met. I can safely say that I will never move outside of Alberta unless I get a good job opportunity or I win the powerball and can live on an island by myself and my pets, which is my dream. Something about the kids here made me feel different, I didn’t know anyone for the first couple months and then I met some people who made me laugh and feel good. Some of those people have stayed in my life to this day while others are onto different things due to their actions.


"I honestly think if everyone moved around the country a lot and lived in America for five years of their life they may understand why I am so closed and untrusting when I first meet you."

Moving around a lot has shown me some different sides to people due to their location. Experiences like these make me remember that there are some smart people in the world and some people who share the same ideas of me because I have met so many diverse incredible people. I have also met some incredible hurtful people who may have changed due to their age but I highly doubt it. I have learned not to trust people too much and give them access to things which may be valuable to me due to these past experiences and learnings. I honestly think if everyone moved around the country a lot and lived in America for five years of their life they may understand why I am so closed and untrusting when I first meet you. If you asked me if I wish I did not move around as much and I told you "no", I would probably be lying; if I didn’t get the bad places out of the way I would not be here today happy.


- November 2020

Love

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Share your story or connect with this MonoBlogger by talking to a staff member at SGA

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page